Digital Preservation Awards 2018 – Barbara Sierman Awarded DPC Fellowship

In an exciting finale to the Digital Preservation Awards 2018, Barbara Sierman, Chair of the Open Preservation Foundation, has been awarded the DPC Fellowship.

Returning for 2018, the DPC Fellowship Award was presented to Barbara Sierman who is known to many in the digital preservation community for her work with the Koninklijke Bibliotheek (National Library of the Netherlands) and the Open Preservation Foundation, as well as the development of the ISO standards 16363 Audit and Certification of Trustworthy Digital Repositories and ISO 161919 Requirements for bodies providing audit and certification of candidate trustworthy digital repositories as well as many other digital preservation projects. The award recognizes Barbara’s sustained personal contribution to digital preservation, her generously shared insights and ongoing collaboration for the widest possible benefit.

Leading organizations and practitioners of digital preservation gathered together for a spectacular awards ceremony at Amsterdam Museum, as part of an International Conference hosted by the Dutch Digital Heritage Network for World Digital Preservation Day on Thursday 29th November 2018.

Watch the ceremony

Hosted by the DPC and introduced by the Chair of Judges, Steve Daly, Head of Technology for BBC Archives, the evening celebrated the achievements of those people and organizations who have made significant and innovative contributions to securing our digital legacy for the long-term.

Barbara Sierman, Digital Preservation Manager at the Koninklijke Bibliotheek and Chair of the OPF Board commented:

I was honoured to be awarded the Digital Preservation Coalition Fellowship […] I would like to thank the management of the KB who gave me the opportunity to be an active member of the Digital Preservation community. I would like to thank all my friends and colleagues with whom I collaborate, both nationally and internationally.” Read more

Martin Wrigley, Executive Director of the Open Preservation Foundation said:

I am delighted to see Barbara win this award. Barbara has been involved with the Open Preservation Foundation since the very beginning and currently chairs the OPF’s Board. We are very proud to celebrate Barbara’s remarkable contribution to the digital preservation community. Her leadership, knowledge and experience bring great benefit to the OPF and its members – very well deserved!”

Chair of the DPC Board and Head of Data Division for STFC, Juan Bicarregui was overwhelmed by the quality and diversity of applications, saying:

We are absolutely delighted to see that the Digital Preservation Awards has once again recognized organizations from around the world, working collaboratively towards a common goal of securing our digital legacy. Our winners are truly worthy of their awards this evening.”

In a year which saw the greatest number of nominations received to date, those selected as finalists faced tough competition from entries across the world.

The Award for the Most Outstanding Digital Preservation Initiative in Commerce, Industry and Third Sector made a return this year and was deservedly won by Crossrail and Transport for London, after beating tough competition from Stichting Omroep Muziek (Dutch Broadcast Music) and ICKAmsterdam and Motion Bank, with their ambitious work to preserve a heavily interlinked dataset covering all phases of Europe’s biggest infrastructure project.

The IFI Irish Film Archive saw off entries from the White House Historical Association, the UK Parliamentary Archives and the Local Authority Consortium of West Sussex Records Office, Wiltshire & Swindon History Centre to claim The Award for Safeguarding the Digital Legacy with their exception project to preserve the rare Loopline collection of Irish cultural documentaries.

Anna Oates, who completed her thesis at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign took the prize for the Most Outstanding Student Work in Digital Preservation with her work on the PDF/A standard, while Jennifer Allen, Matthew Farrell, Shira Peltzman, Alice Prael and Dorothy Waugh by shared the Award for Teaching and Communications for their truly open and collaborative ‘Archivists Guide to Kryoflux.’ The innovative ePADD project from Stanford University Libraries scooped the highly competitive Award for Research and Innovation.

Full list of 2018 Digital Preservation Award Winners

See all 2018 finalists



Stay informed