OPF launches lifetime personal membership awards

As part of the celebrations for the 10th anniversary of the Open Preservation Foundation, we launched our lifetime personal membership awards in recognition of individuals who have made a significant contribution to digital preservation, the OPF and our community.

The first three recipients of the award were announced at the OPF’s AGM:

  • Adam Farquhar
  • Ross King
  • Barbara Sierman

Martin Wrigley, Executive Director at OPF, said:

“As we celebrate our 10th year, we find opportunities to reflect on the past and recognise those responsible for the Foundation’s milestones and achievements over the past decade. We are proud to honour these three outstanding individuals for their strategic leadership and dedication, and we are excited to welcome each of them in their new capacity as lifetime personal members.”

Adam Farquhar said:

“The OPF has come to play a prominent and valued role in the digital preservation landscape. I’m honoured to be among the first recipients of this award. Having established the organisation over a decade ago and serving as its first Board President, I’m really proud when I look over its accomplishments and see the strong team that leads the OPF today”.

Ross King said:

“It was an honor to be a founding member of the OPF and to guide it through some of its formative years – and now a great pleasure to see how it has become a sustainable organization that so well serves the digital preservation community”.

Barbara Sierman said:

“I’m very honoured with the award, and grateful to have contributed in making OPF an important player in the field of digital preservation. OPF is in a strong position to support an enthusiast community in sharing knowledge, developing tools and bringing the profession of digital preservation forward. I wish OPF a prosperous future.”

Lifetime personal members enjoy a range of benefits including invitations to and priority registration for OPF events, opportunities to consult on select projects, eligibility to join the member mailing list and more.

Learn more about the contributions by our award recipients here.



Stay informed