Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

An Introduction to BitCurator Access WebTools

Jan 24 : 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM

Many libraries, archives and museums (LAMs) have been creating disk images of media in their care, but they’ve previously had few options for providing access to the materials on those disk images.

The BitCurator Access Webtools, created through a grant from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, allow users to browse file systems contained within disk images using a web browser. It is intended to support access requirements in libraries, archives, and museums preserving born-digital materials extracted from source media as raw or forensically-packaged disk images.

The service uses open source libraries and toolkits including The Sleuth Kit, PyTSK, and the Flask web microservices framework. It uses PyLucene along with format-specific text-extraction tools to index the contents of files contained in disk images, allowing users to search for relevant content without individually inspecting files.

This webinar will briefly cover the context and rationale for the development of BitCurator Access WebTools.  We will then explain how to install the software, demonstrate its functionality and discuss several system administration considerations.

Session Leads:

  • Cal Lee
  • Kam Woods

The webinar takes place at 10:00 EST / 15:00 GMT / 16:00 CET and will last approximately one hour.

Member content

Members have access to content which is not available publicly.

Please sign in to access member content.

Recording

Slides

Find out how to become a member

Details

Date:
Jan 24
Time:
3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Event Categories:
,
Event Tags:
,

Organiser

Open Preservation Foundation